Impact Entrepreneurs Replication School: Day 3 is a success!

January 25, 2012 at 6:16 am Leave a comment

PSU’s Impact entrepreneurs, in partnership with Digital Divide Data and The Rockefeller Foundation, has been delivering Impact Sourcing Training to social entrepreneurs hand selected by Rockefeller. The training, hosted by digital Divide Data, is preparing these entrepreneurs from Africa and South Asia to launch or expand their own social enterprise initiatives in the Business Process Outsourcing space in their countries.

By Lindsey Dietz, PSU MBA Candidate and Week 1 Replication School Teacher in Cambodia

Today is day three of the marketing module at the replication school hosted by DDD in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.  Our curriculum topics today covered information from “Strategic marketing for social entrepreneurs” by Jerr Boschee. This reading provides a framework for our participants to evaluate the impact and revenue potential of each of the projects or services they offer. We also covered strategy, value propositions and positioning.

I have noticed that I developed more curriculum than I can get through each day. I hope that the accelerated pace doesn’t mean missing any of the important topics. I spend my evenings reviewing the curriculum and preparing for the next days work. I’m motivated to provide the best experience for our participants possible. My way of ensuring this is adapting each day to what I learned in previous sessions.

Lindsey Dietz with replication school participants

Today had a big moment for me on a personal level. During class I started to get sluggish and slow. I was having difficulty explaining a topic. My class of participants called me out on it asking if I may need a break. I was a little worried that this signaled a failure in the eyes of my students. However, I was quickly reassured. The participants told me that I am doing a great job and that they value my effort and work. What a great confidence booster. Those comments make all the hard work well worth it! I have two more days to create even more impact.

Yesterday I mentioned that DDD was in the news. It turns out I missed an earlier article featuring the organization. Here is another great article about DDD and the impact their work creates http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-asia-jobtraining-20120102%2c0%2c1259025.story

More to come from this PSU student tomorrow. Stay tuned!

Entry filed under: DDD Replication School.

Impact Entrepreneurs Replication School: Day 2 – Marketing and Customer Relationship Management Impact Entrepreneurs Replication School: Day 4 – The Marketing in Cambodia Adventure Continues!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect With Us

Impact Entrepreneurs Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


