Impact Entrepreneurs Replication School: Week 2 – Contribution from Participants

February 2, 2012 at 8:15 am 1 comment

PSU’s Impact entrepreneurs, in partnership with Digital Divide Data and The Rockefeller Foundation, has been delivering Impact Sourcing Training to social entrepreneurs hand selected by Rockefeller. The training, hosted by digital Divide Data, is preparing these entrepreneurs from Africa and South Asia to launch or expand their own social enterprise initiatives in the Business Process Outsourcing space in their countries.

By Neil Schimmel, MBA Candidate at Portland State University, Week 2 Instructor (Finance)

I have thoroughly enjoyed my week with the participants of this program and it is important to me their voices are represented in this reporting.  I assess that we have made significant progress in our learning, and it is incredibly relevant to read the perspective of each training program participant.  Following are contributions from the students, which highlight their assessments, their wisdom, their gratitude and general feedback about this process. 

“Receiving information and immediately knowing how to apply it within my personal and organizational sphere makes this training very unique.  As a leader, I know and believe it is my responsibility to ensure the output of the training is replicated to enhance my personal and organizational development.  We are learning a lot from the teachers, fellow participants and mostly the DDD team. It is totally worth my time.”  -Joan Wekesa (Enablis, Nairobi, Kenya)

“This is my first week here, yet so enjoyable. It is amazing how Finance Management, Impact Investing, Innovations and other subjects merge and correlate. [There have been] great lessons from our very informative and interesting instructor, Neil Schimmel.  And not to forget: the incorporation of leadership excellence in our daily learnings—I learned this from Carolyn.”  -Caroline Wanjiku (Daproim, Nairobi, Kenya)

“I am very grateful to Professor Carolyn for her continuous motivational words, encouragements, care, tools, experience sharing and selection of talented co-facilitators. Last week I got great insight from Ms. Lindsey Dietz about the marketing and I have developed the marketing plan for my proposed project with the use of innovative marketing tools. This week I have great opportunity to dive into the knowledge of my co-facilitator, Mr. Neil Schimmel, and upgrade my knowledge of financial management. In last three days, as per my expectation, I got lot of knowledge and tools for analyzing accounts and financial management with his comprehensive knowledge and practical experiences in NIKE, DDD model and other social business experiences. I like very much his style of teaching with the use of different innovative tools, methods and way of engaging participants. It is very difficult to understand accounting and financial terminologies in one go, but I achieved my learning objectives in these days. I must also appreciate my colleagues for their practical experience, intellect, time and knowledge sharing with me. Now I am confident in this week I will be able to develop financial plan for my proposed social business.”  -Ejaz Ali (KADO, Northern Areas of Pakistan)

“The replication school is tailored towards improving our level of knowledge of social enterprises and the level of impact I can bring to bear on the social problems in my country.  Listening to other participants from Kenya, South Africa, Pakistan and the DDD example gives me an impression of what is happening around the world and that is exciting to me.”  -Hayford Dorvlo (E.Services, Accra, Ghana)

“When a group of people come together to engage and share knowledge a whole new world of possibilities opens up to them. Last week my mind was soaked in Marketing and Customer Relationship Management and on how we can attract, retain and grow our customer base as a business. This week we plunged into the whole new world of numbers. Finance is a discipline we are studying this week and Neil is helping us understand how to make investment decisions that would bring our organisations in the social enterprise space return on investment. When I heard that this week we are going to be dealing with numbers, my mind switched off immediately and here am I after two days– its light on again, and I am craving for more numbers.  I want to make those important decisions that will give investors value for their investment (ROI). Welcome to Finance made easy. Neil, bring it on.”  -Gift Serero (Invincible Outsourcing, South Africa)

Entry filed under: DDD Replication School.

Impact Entrepreneurs Replication School: Week 2 – Our Guest Speakers Interview with Luke Miller Callahan, Founder of GroAction

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. joshmathis  |  February 2, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Well posted, Mr. Schimmel! The words from the participants are truly inspiring and are what make all the hard work and long hours we put in well worth it. I’m looking forward to hearing all about your experience and what you learned during your time in Cambodia. Safe travels to you and your lovely travelling companion, my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect With Us

Impact Entrepreneurs Twitter Feed

Archives


